Our annual competition in memory of Geoff Davies, a Past President of this club and highly esteemed local photographer, was held on 12 October 2017. We were delighted to welcome Geoff’s widow Betty back to the club to join us at this competition.

We welcomed Alf Myers from Preston PS to judge the 30 mono prints all on the topic of Street Photography in honour of Geoff. As Alf specialises in mono street photography images we were keen to hear his views and comments.

During the initial run through Alf gave us his observations and the story as he saw it for each print. Alf was impressed with the wide range of different styles and said that several of the prints were very good. He looks for prints that show the environment and man’s touch, and he said the narrative, emotion, and story the print is trying to convey is more important than technique for street photography.

After giving his comments and views, Alf had held back 8 prints for further consideration. He explained that these in particular had a very good story, and something about each of them jumped out at him, catching his attention. Three of these held prints were awarded 18 points, and these were “A Secret Glance” by Brian White, “Love Birds” by Mike Hesp, and “Protest and Survive” by Don Isherwood.

A  further three were awarded 19 points, namely “Cafe Conversation” by David Barker, "Facebook  Friends” by Alan Bromiley, and “St. Mungo, Patron Saint of the Homeless”  also by Alan Bromiley.

That left two prints that Alf said were both highly commendable and he awarded them both the full 20 points. They were “Manchester Bombing” by Ian Walker and “No Givers” by David Hawkins. Alf was aware that this competition must have just one winner (as a trophy is awarded at a later date), and he confirmed the overall winner was “Manchester Bombing” by Ian Walker.

Manchester Bombing Ian Walker

“Manchester Bombing” by Ian Walker



No Givers David Hawkins

“No Givers” by David Hawkins

Our thanks to Alf Myers for his very interesting, helpful, and informative comments, and our congratulations to Ian and David. This is the third year we have held this competition, and the third time Ian has won it - very well done Ian!

The titles, authors, and scores can be seen on the pdf file below.

Download this file (Score sheet for Web.pdf)Geoff Davies Competition Score Sheet[ ]187 kB